La Ciudad de Mexico

The Distrito Federal has so far been full of delicious food, warm embraces, and unpredictable weather. I’m living in Coyoacán for the moment, with my cousin Tania and her husband Rafael. They have just had a baby girl named Mikaela, who is so beautiful that complete strangers on the street often stop to exclaim about her. Little do they know, she’s not only cute, but also lovely, burbling, and happy. There is an ongoing joke that I’m part geriatric, part infant-toddler-fourth grader, and to be honest, that combination of my alter egos has really found its home here in la Ciudad de Mexico.

IMG_1876 2013-06-16 15.33.09

My niece Paulyna wearing my sunglasses on Father’s Day.

2013-06-20 21.16.12

Rafa’s aunt Conchita celebrated her 81st birthday last Thursday. She made us all cochinita pibíl and arroz con leche.

While I’m here, I’m taking creative writing classes at La Universidad del Claustro de Sor Juana, which is in the Historic Center of Mexico City, in the Colonia Cuauhtémoc. It’s a really gorgeous old building, a converted cloister and convent that was founded in 1585. When it rains really hard, the hallways flood. There are also lots of cats wandering around in the courtyards, and as I found, even in the cafeteria.

2013-06-18 18.40.01 2013-06-18 15.40.12 2013-06-18 15.22.47

I’ve been really lucky, to have come here on a whim, and to have found so many beautiful things already.

Leave a Reply

